Another lady Haggard in the haus

If you haven’t heard on Facebook (as Jason calls it, the most impersonal way to share personal information), we’re having a GIRL!

Up until about a week ago we were undecided as to if we were going to find out the sex in our 20-week ultrasound on Friday, though we were leaning toward doing so.

Earlier last week I remembered a very special project I’ve always wanted to undertake in my pregnancy, should we be anticipating a little girl.  I reminded Jason about it and he agreed that my project was a good reason to find out.

I’m excited to share with you that project in future post, but for now I will leave you in anticipation about what it might entail. 🙂  I promise you’ll hear about it sooner rather than later.

But back to the more immediate details . . .

As I mentioned before, I have been nervous about this ultrasound, knowing I would feel relieved if the baby looked and measured healthy.  I felt wired and amped up all afternoon and avoided resting physically or finding peace in God.

But right before we left for our appointment I looked over the passage we’re studying in BSF this week.  It’s from Isaiah 40:

“Who has measured the waters in the hollow of his hand and marked off the heavens with a span, enclosed the dust of the earth in a measure and weighed the mountains in scales and the hills in a balance?

Who has measured the Spirit of the Lord, or what man shows him his counsel?   . . .To whom then will you liken God, or what likeness compare with him? . . . Lift up your eyes on high and see: who created these?  He who brings out their host by number, calling them all by name, by the greatness of his might, and because he is strong in power not one of them is missing.” (12-13, 18, 28)

This felt like a comforting word to me from God about how big He is and yet how He pays attention to each detail not just in His creation, but in each of our life’s situations.  And it is His bigness that reassures me that He has the power and might to control this baby’s health and life.

I re-learn daily that I can’t do that myself, so I am glad to be reminded there is One who can.

After that I loaded Ian up into the car and were off to meet Daddy at the doctor.  We were glad we brought him along.  He was a little weirded out when we finally got into the dark exam room, but Jason reassured him the tech wasn’t going to hurt me, and he enjoyed watching the TV and eating his apple.  I think he understood as much as he could that we were seeing the baby in Mommy’s tummy.

As I’ve mentioned previously, not all the US techs we’ve had have been very friendly, reassuring or informative.  Unfortunately, the one we had this time was along those lines.  She spoke pretty quietly, too, so I felt like I was straining to pay attention to the screen and catch what she was saying when she pointed out certain things.

We found out later that Baby Girl had positioned herself in such a way that it required the tech to do quite a bit of maneuvering to look over all her body parts (I think this is why Baby’s photo is a bit more blurry than usual).   The tech waited until the end to ask us if we wanted to know the sex, but based on certain views I kinda thought it was a girl. Of course it was nice to have it confirmed!

Not surprisingly, Jason kept asking both the tech and doctor “How sure are you?  Completely sure?  How often are you wrong?  Can you give me a percentage?”  Really, I think he was just trying to give them a hard time. 🙂

Dr. Wang, the same doctor who spoke with us at our last ultrasound, was the doctor who did the consult.  I was glad to see him, though he probably doesn’t remember us.  I have a very positive association with him from our last visit.  He’s an older, jovial Asian man who seems genuinely enthusiastic for his patients (at least he has been for us).  He gave us the good news that she measured fine and all her parts looked good.

Though I was still feeling excited about finding out what we were having, it made it all the more a celebratory affair to hear that she looked healthy!

To mark the occasion, we stopped off at Ballard Market and splurged on their amazing take-out buffet, then followed up our meal with homemade brownies and ice cream.  And there were, of course, phone calls to grandparents and siblings to report the news.

Both Jason and I both felt we were having a girl, though we have admitted that it just seems natural to think you’re having a girl when you already have a boy.  But I think our inkling was there for some reason, too.

Thanks to everyone who has been excited for us and I will report on my project for Baby Girl soon!

10 responses to “Another lady Haggard in the haus

  1. Congratulations! I’m so excited for you guys! Hugs! -Miranda

  2. Aw, yay! How exciting!

  3. grandma Haggard

    I may be prejudice , but she sure has a cute nose.

  4. we DEFINITELY thought it was a girl… as tough and pretty as her Mama, it would seem. 🙂

  5. Lynn (Van Houweling) Jones

    Congrats! So happy for you guys and this precious baby girl on the way!

  6. Congratulations Elisabeth, Jason, & Ian! What happy news! 🙂

  7. Congratulations! Enjoy the blessings of this pregnancy as you await the arrival of a new little bundle of joy! Ian is going to have so much fun being a big brother!

  8. Congratulations! All our love from the Stiles family 🙂 xo

  9. Oh Elisabeth!

    I have just checked your blog after quite sometime (been out of the online lately) and am THRILLED for you guys!! Congrats my dear friend!

    Love, Keisha

  10. Pingback: Tired and weary | Bliss and the Battlefield

Leave a Reply

