The next training challenge (and how some things come full circle)

On Good Friday of 2006 Jason and I were sitting across from each other at The Matador, eating tacos.  We were dating at that point, about two or three months in.

Somehow we got talking about biking.  I said something to the effect of “You know, I think I want to try that someday.”  And, with complete confidence, Jason said “Well, we’re just going to have to get you a bike then.”

That statement made the future of our relationship seem so final.  Somewhere, at some point a ways into the future, we were going to buy me a bike.  Not me buying a bike with his help, but we.  And what it felt even more like was that he was going to buy me a bike.  That’s the sort of thing that goes on in married life.

You see where this is going.  Up until this point in time I knew Jason wanted to marry me, but I wasn’t so sure I wanted to marry him. In this moment I found myself very naturally answering his declaration with “Yes, yes we will.”  I felt very comforted and taken care of.  And in a strange way, it felt like I was saying “Yes, I think I will marry you.”

Though the road to the wedding aisle was not without a few bumps along the way, as you know we ended up getting married.  And I look back on that bike conversation as a major turning point for me.  It was a simple, unexpected confirmation from God.

Fast forward to two weeks ago (almost three years to the day) . . .

I was changing a diaper and somehow in the midst of wiping Ian’s behind I decided to train for the Cd’A Triathlon.  It started with a random thought and then a “No, I can’t possibly do that.”  And then I challenged that thought (very unlike me) by thinking about the whys of why I can’t do it, and they all sort of dissolved away into a sense of peace and determination.

In fact, it was it was a lot like that evening at The Matador: “Yes, yes I think I will do a triathlon!”

Even now I’m still surprised I’m doing this because I’ve sat on my duff all winter, waiting for the slightest hint of motivation to exercise and none has come.  And now all the sudden I’m doing this and I’m not scared but excited about it!

I will caveat this by saying that I am going to do the bike (40k) and the run (10k) but not the swim.  I have asked my extraordinarily talented and athletic husband to be my teammate and complete that component of the race.

When I told Jason that 1) I wanted to do this triathlon and that 2) I wanted him to do it with me, I could tell he felt very loved.  His dream of finding a recreational companion in his wife was coming true on a whole nother level.

And what did he do with all that love bursting forth from his heart? He went out and did what he said he was going to do that day three years ago.  He bought me a road bike!

Say hello to the “Buzzing Bee”.

Jason wanted to call it the Hornet because he envisions me speeding by, a flash of black and yellow.

I prefer Buzzing Bee because I see myself buzzing along, picking people off at a consistent pace.  Even if it’s only older people and kids.  I wouldn’t want to scare the kids, of course.

What makes this even better is that yesterday Jason sold my mountain bike for the exact same price he bought the new bike for.  I was a bit nostalgic about it because it got me through my half-marathon cross training (both times). But alas, it is time to move on.

This and several other things have reminded me of something I think I forgot: when God wants you to do something, He gives you what you need to do it.

Hence, the free new bike.  And the biking shoes Alyssa gave me two years ago that I set aside for “someday.” And the biking shorts Jason bought me with his REI gift card. And the steadily growing desire to get out there and get in shape.  And the sunny days we’ve had to go bike riding.  I feel really encouraged when I get to witness and be a part of these things.

As for a goal, I don’t have one of those yet, at least as far as a specific time goes.  Right now it’s just to train and finish.  And that may remain my goal until the end.  I just want to have a lot fun with Jason and grow closer to God through the experience.

On that note, I’ll leave you with a photo of our first family bike ride.

BTW, the triathlon is August 7th.  Four months to go.

4 responses to “The next training challenge (and how some things come full circle)

  1. Oh I am so excited for you! And the Buzzing Bee. I think yellow bicycles are truly the best! (I am not prejudiced…) Good luck with your training. Robb and I are training for several half marathons this year. We’ve been finding that training together is really a great new element in our relationship.

  2. love it. this is perfect timing since i just got a bike too. let’s go riding together soon!

  3. I would love to know where he bought you a road bike for the price of your mountain bike! We have been, or I have been at the very least, praying that a road bike would miraculously appear in my life. I don’t and won’t mountain bike anymore, so I have wanted to sell it, but can’t until I get another bike. Anyway, I am envious in a really HAPPY way for you! 🙂
    Happy trails!
    A

  4. Ok, I’m a tad concerned that both bees and hornets sting. Did you not even consider the ‘flying kitten’ as an option? And we’re both super stoked about the stairs on your deck. They look amazing!
    e

Leave a Reply

