It’s been three weeks so I’ve got to give an update

I don’t think either of these photos really do justice to showing how incredibly wet we (I mean I) got yesterday.  My shoes were completely soaked through to the point where I stopped every trying to dodge through the massive puddles and just went right through them.  Ian stayed dry thanks to the BOB’s trusty rain shield.

Yes, I was the crazy lady running along the Burke Gilman in the pouring rain.  The only other person as crazy as me was the guy riding his bike wearing only spandex bike shorts.  He was even barefoot.  I’m not sure what that was all about.  But hey, it was Fremont.

Don’t think of me as so dedicated to the sport of running that I would battle wind and rain at any cost.  I’ve really barely been running since the race, maybe four times.  I was just feeling sluggish yesterday and felt we had to get out of the house.  I needed to clear my head and move.  We both needed some fresh air and to see the light of day (and not from inside looking out of a window, that doesn’t count). 

This is all just a preface to say that Ian and I have been semi-hermits the last few weeks.  Nothing too exciting has gone on and that’s why the blog has been quiet.

But, here are a few Haggard happenings:

  • Ian is getting very close to walking.  He’s standing up a lot by himself, but still prefers to get down and crawl when he wants to get somewhere.
  • Last week was all weird for me.  I felt like maybe I was going to get sick but never did.  I was super tired.  Ian wasn’t sleeping well and hence, Mama was not either.  And it always takes me several days to stop waking up at 2am, even if he’s gotten over it.
  • Jason’s been at the UCU most Monday nights, having dinner with the guys and being a part of their Bible study.  He is planning on teaching a series winter quarter on the character of God.
  • I started BSF about a month ago, per Tiffany‘s suggestion, and I am really liking it.  It’s very different than anything I’ve done before but it’s really nice to be a part of something, especially as we are searching for a new church.
  • Speaking of searching for a new church, that’s what we’ve been doing.  My brain has been going round and round with all kinds of different thoughts and questions and prayers about what church is, what it’s not, what God has in store for us, etc.  Maybe at some point I will decide to share them on this blog, but not at the moment.
  • We have lots of grass-fed beef, thanks to our quarter cow from Happy Hollow Farm.  We went out and visited the farm on Halloween weekend, it was a lot of fun.  I’ve decided I want a cream-colored draft horse, just like the ones they have there.  Aren’t they so pretty?
  • Back to the beef.  So far we’ve had tenderloin steaks, beef enchiladas, and probably the best burgers I’ve ever had.  And not just because of the beef, but because of Jason’s talented way with meat.  I look forward to roasts, stews, more steaks, etc.  If you’re over at the Haggards for dinner any time soon, you know what you’ll be having. 
  • We only had three groups of trick-or-treaters at Halloween.  If you’re not convinced that human beings have a depraved nature, I’m sure seeing a cute little four-year-old pink fairy try to grab all the candy out of your bowl in one foul swoop will do the trick.
  • Ian is still a drool monster.  It doesn’t even seem to go in waves anymore, it’s just here to stay. He wears a bib pretty much all the time, except when he’s sleeping.  Everyone we know has gotten used to it, but we still get strangers or acquaintances ask, “Why is he wearing that thing?”  The answer:  It’s that or I am doing loads and loads of baby laundry all day long.
  • I am starting to do physical therapy again for my shoulder.  My previous problem in my joint is not back (thank you, Lord) but I have so much scar tissue around it that I have really limited mobility.  The PT also said I have pretty awful posture.  So, I’m back at my exercises, Jason is stretching it every night for me, and I’m getting it taped from time to time.  I know it will never be 100%, but I am feeling encouraged it can be improved.
  • We are getting ready to go to Mother Teresa’s to celebrate Thanksgiving and her and Ian’s birthdays.  Gary, Penny, Christian, and Caroline will be there, too.  I am really looking forward to getting away and relaxing and being with family.
  • Christmas is just around the corner.  A week from today I will officially break out Sufjan’s “Songs for Christmas” and starting humming “Lo How a Rose” and then it will be the real deal.  I’m also going to get “A Very Rosie Christmas” this year.

That’s about all I can think of for now.  Here are a few more photos of our visit to the park today (it was not raining).  And of course, this, just because it makes me happy.

2 responses to “It’s been three weeks so I’ve got to give an update

  1. Cool post. Can’t wait to see you all!

  2. I love this Elisabeth! Thank you for updating us on life… I look forward to more posts on the day-to-day living of the Haggard family. Those are always my favorite. 🙂

    Love to you and hoping it will not be long until we see you. I was super bummed to have missed you last week but it was so crazy… we are finally settled as of yesterday! Yay!

    Keisha

Leave a Reply

