48 hours until race day

The half marathon is on Sunday.  I am almost there. 

These are my running shoes.  They were bright white and shiney metallic, fresh out of the box when all of this training started. 

About three weeks ago I tried to retire them for a new pair I could break in before the race.  But they wouldn’t let me go.  After three pairs of replacements returned to the store, I came back to them.  They have been so good to my feet and the others just didn’t feel right.  It was if they were protesting, “We did all these miles, too.  Don’t think you’re going to ditch us on race day.  We want our glory!”

I understand, shoes.  I don’t blame you.  I guess I want a little glory, too.

Conversation with my shoes aside, I am really excited for this race.  There’s a little part of me that wonders if I can withstand the mental challenge, especially in those last three miles, but most of me is raring to go.  I’ve been hesitant to share my goal,  but here it is: 10 minute miles.  That will put me in at a little over 2 hours and 10 minutes.  I think I can do it, I’m pretty sure I can do it . . . we will see.

As for my fundraising for child soldiers through Pilgrim, it looks as though no one has donated anything to the cause.  I am disappointed by this, BUT there is still a couple days left before the race!  Please, please consider giving to this great organization who is helping children in Uganda heal from their lives as child soldiers in the LRA.  Visit Pilgrim’s donation page to do so (enter amount next to EHaggard Race). If you’re reading about this for the first time, please vist my half marathon web page.

Lastly, if you think about me on Sunday during the hours of 7:30am-10am PST, please not only pray for me as I run, but also pray for the kids at Pilgrim’s Beacon College and all children affected by child soldiering (which occurs not just in Africa but in many parts of the world).  You can see photos of the kids at Beacon and pray for them by name at Pilgrim’s website.  I will be praying with you.

Also, if you think of me on Sunday, please comment on my web page, it will be really encouraging to me when I return home from the race.

My fantastic husband will be cheering me on and will of course be taking photos and probably video, so you can look forward to it next week.  We’ll also try to catch as much of Victoria as we can and share it with you all.

4 responses to “48 hours until race day

  1. Good luck! You are going to love this race.

  2. Elisiabeth Honey, Good luck on the race! God Speed and God bless you.
    Dad

  3. May you not only finish the race within your goal but enjoy the experience. Is that possible to enjoy running for over 2 hours?? It is beyond my comprehension. How about if I revise it to say, enjoy the sense of accomplishment when you have finished!
    Linda

  4. Pingback: Half marathon complete! « Bliss and the Battlefield

Leave a Reply

