Half marathon update

Today starts week 10 of my half marathon training.  On Sunday I ran my longest run yet–eight miles.  Actually, it’s the longest run I’ve done since high school.  And of course it wouldn’t have been complete without a torrential downpour during the last 30 minutes of it.

No I did not go to Harvard.

No I did not go to Harvard. If I had, I would be crazy and doing an Ironman.

If I look happy in this photos it’s because I actually AM  happy (and not because I just finished). Jason ran the first lap with me around Greenlake, then I ran a second by myself and ran home from there. It was so much fun. 

In fact, fun has pretty much been the standard concerning this training experience. There have been a few days where I just haven’t felt like hitting the pavement, but for the most part the time has been really beneficial for me in numerous ways.  And despite what the photo shows, I have had great weather most of the time.

The only hiccup I’ve had is a small bike accident . . . which is a bit embarassing.  I fell over onto our neighbor’s parked boat when my bike chain locked as I was coming up the hill to our house.  Thankfully, I wasn’t going very fast, the boat came away unscathed, and no one was around to see it happen 🙂

My time running and biking has also been really great for me spiritually.  Sometimes I listen to sermons or worship music, other times I just run in silence to clear my mind and relax.  At some point during almost all my runs I pray.  And that’s a big deal to me because it’s been a long time since I’ve enjoyed praying for an extended period of time.  Obviously, there are other factors involved in why I’m feeling this way, but doing something I love is helping. 

Photo courtesy of World Vision

Photo courtesy of World Vision

One thing I am praying for in my workout time are former child soldiers in Uganda.  As you recall from my previous post, I am looking for people to come alongside me in my training efforts and pray and/or donate funds to Pilgrim’s Beacon College in Uganda. 

Beacon is a school where kids are being healed from their life as child soldiers, acclamating back into society, receiving an education, and meeting Jesus.  I have really enjoyed praying for these kids.  In the past I have felt like there’s nothing I can do to help people suffering, but this time I really believe that God hears my prayers and that they are making a difference, even if only the eyes of my faith can see it.

I know that everyone has a lot on their mind and that the economy is certainly influencing our financial decisions, but please consider getting involved in some way.  Maybe it’s just praying for these kids every time you read this blog or maybe it’s something more.  If you’d like to, you can meet Beacon’s students here and even sponsor one if you like.

Although I don’t have to know if you’re participating, I would really like to.  I’ve created a separate page on the blog (along the top of the web page, entitled “Half Marathon“) that talks about former child soldiers and about Pilgrim’s work in Uganda.  I’ve added more resources and photos, so please do check it out

If decide to get involved you can comment here or there, drop me an email, or tell me in person. Also, if you know anyone who you think would be interested in what I’m doing, please do send them a link to the blog.

If your heart is entrenched in some other cause, I would love to know about that, too.  There is so much that God is calling us to do to be a part of His redemptive work in the world.  It’s encouraging to hear what people care about.

Here’s to my happy running!

3 responses to “Half marathon update

  1. Hurrah! Good luck with the continued training! I think the half is probably my favourite distance so far (as I have yet to run a full).

  2. Congrats on the successful training! I have some friends who trained to 8 miles before their half and said it was enough. I needed to train to 10 before I was ready.

    I used those goo packs for the long runs and found them immensely helpful…but I just didn’t like the caffeine or the super salty ones.

    Keep it up!

  3. Hey thanks for visiting my blog. I was really surprised and pleased to learn that the Elisabeth that posted on my blog was you. Beacon College sounds like a great place. Let me learn a bit more and I think I may be able to get involved.

Leave a Reply

