Help me run a half marathon

[I accidently deleted this post and had to post it again.  So, if you are receiving it for the second time, I apologize.]

I mentioned briefly a few posts ago that I’ve gotten up the gumption to start training for a half marathon. The subject was brought up between Jason and I during my pregnancy, but I thought it was really just one of those pie-in-the-sky type goals that pregnant women make when they look at their puffy faces in the mirror. So, I didn’t take myself all that seriously.

The truth is that I’ve always wanted to do a half, ever since my cross country days in high school, and I even trained for one a couple years ago, but at the end of training I didn’t complete it as I got sidetracked with an out-of-the-country work trip. I had so much fun training then that I knew I would love to try it again.

Well, I guess I should’ve taken myself a bit more seriously because now I’m actually doing it–I’ve registered for the Victoria B.C. race and I’m into week five of my training! I’m even riding my bike on my cross-training days and have enjoyed it so much that that could easily become another time-sucking hobby. We will see.

Details of training aside, there are several reasons why I’m running this half-marathon: to help me remember what it’s like to do something I really love and to do it, to enjoy the outdoors during this time of year, to get out of the house and have some moments of peace and quiet, etc.

But, there is one important reason why I’m doing this and I would love if you would participate with me in it. I am hoping to bring awareness, lift up prayers, and raise funds for former child soldiers in Uganda through Pilgrim, a Christian relief organization.

For those who don’t know about this issue, a man named Joseph Kony has organized the Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA) in northern Uganda and claims that he is inspired by the Holy Spirit to rebel against the Ugandan government. He is clearly not a follower of Jesus, but that of Satan. Part of his plan involves abducting Ugandan children and forcing them to become solidiers, brainwashing them to kill and destroy.

I first learned about this during my time at World Vision. Thankfully, since then child abduction for these purposes is not much of a problem anymore, as the LRA has diminished in it’s power. But there are thousands of kids left behind who are displaced and traumatized, trying to recover from what has happened to them.

When I thought about a cause I could contribute to, this issue came to my mind particularly because I’m a mom and when I try to imagine kids just like my son enduring such things my heart breaks.

Please partner with me in helping former child soldiers. You can do so in a few ways.

1. Learn more about kids who are recovering from life as a child solider by watching this video.

2. Pray. Ask God to heal these children. Ask Him to give them the greatest gift of all, their salvation. Pray against the enemy, who would try to thwart this.

3. Give to Pilgrim’s Beacon College (featured in the video), a place where kids who were formerly child soldiers are receiving an education, tools to help them heal, and the gospel. There are currently about 500 kids there, but many more who would like to participate. Please pledge to donate a certain amount for every mile I run in training (about 150 miles) and maybe even double the amount for the race (13.1 miles) 🙂 I promise I’ll run my heart out!

If you decide to participate in any of these ways, please comment below. If you feel comfortable specifying how much you’ll pledge per mile and for how many miles, please say so. But whatever way you choose to partner with me, I will be very excited and want to know about it.

If you do give, go on to Pilgrim’s donation page and put in the total amount next to “E Haggard Race”. I will be reporting back on my training progress and the total amount of money I’ve raised so far.

Thanks in advance to everyone who will be supporting me!

Leave a Reply

