Less internet, or in other words, living life

It has been almost three weeks since I last posted. That is too long. I would say we are busy, which we are, but I’ve also just gotten out of the blogging groove. This is partly because being on the internet was starting to feel like it was sucking the life out of me. So I went out and lived life for a while.

During this life-living I also got semi-addicted to Facebook. I don’t know how this could’ve been possible sans copious amounts of internet time, but apparently it is.

But that’s not nearly as interesting as all these other things I am about to talk about.

First, as you can see our chickens have finally decided to pull their weight. Salad started laying a small egg about every other day since we came back from Minnesota and since then we’ve probably gotten about a dozen total.

The best part is that I discovered their secret egg-laying lair yesterday where I found FOUR eggs stockpiled! (I would’ve taken a picture, but I was so ecstatic when I found them I really couldn’t be bothered to go get the camera.)

I’m starting to think Soup has started also laying because I found the biggest egg I’ve ever seen in my life in their coop this morning, in a spot where Salad doesn’t usually lay.

You must, understand how very exciting this all is to me. So exciting that I don’t want to eat any of the eggs, I just want to put them in the carton and pull them out of the fridge every now and then and remind myself that my farm dream is really coming true (in a small way).

Just a few feet away, our garden is producing lots and lots and lots of lettuce. Our spinach and arugula went bitter a few weeks ago, but we still have butter and heirloom lettuce so we’re eating fresh salads every day, which is very nice. Our strawberry plants are big and green but the fruit is pitiful. I think our carrots and onions may be coming to the same end, too. I don’t know what we’ve done wrong. Oh well, there next year.

Outside of our backyard, we have had other happenings. Jason and I went to the Coldplay concert at the Gorge a few weeks ago and Ian stayed home with Grandma. It wasn’t a complete overnighter since we returned at 2am on Sunday morning, but he did just fine (and so did I). We had beautiful, hot weather that day, and it was very nice to get out with Jason and have some non-kid fun.

Speaking of great weather, it has pretty much been that way all summer here in Seattle, which is very convenient for superstar athletes like myself and my husband. That is right, we are superstars because we are in training. Jason is getting ready for the Coeur d’Alene Triathlon. Some of you may remember that he intended to do this competition last summer, but sprained his ankle three weeks before. But he’s going to BRING IT this year, I know it.

I am training for a half-marathon, and I’m having a lot of fun doing it. Pushing a baby jogger with one baby in it is hard enough, I figure I should finally complete a half now before I have two kids in a stroller (NO, I am not pregnant, just thinking ahead). I have more interesting details about this endeavor, and even a way you can help me if you like, but that is for later . . .

And then there is the other superstar, Ian Bo Bee-an. He had a great time in Minnesota with Grandpa and now that he’s back he’s decided it’s time to get on with big boy skills like sitting up and crawling. He’s mastered the sitting and we are not far off from being on the move. He is also in swim lessons and is learning how to kick, float, hold on to the side of the pool, and dunk underwater.

Lastly, I got bangs. Yes, that’s right–me who has had the same hairstyle since I was a sophomore in college finally decided to switch things up. I was inspired by my friend, Tara, who has mastered cute bangs. Now that all is said and done it is basically the same haircut, just with bangs, but I’m patting myself on the back for such an adventurous move. No picture, you’ll just have to see me to believe it 🙂

3 responses to “Less internet, or in other words, living life

  1. so good to hear how life is going with the haggard household! am excited for your half marathon. which race are you doing? if you need a running buddy call me okay 🙂

  2. Administrator

    I love that you’re a farmer now! I’m excited to talk to you sometime about your lettuce. I am not ambitious enough for chickens (though that egg was pretty exciting), but I can totally get behind fresh lettuce. Good for you!

    Meeka

  3. Pingback: Heat in Seattle « Kabyn and Alyssa

Leave a Reply

