I think Borgie knows what she is talking about

Last weekend we flew to California, where we met Bill & Becky and Tiffany & Kate at Jason’s grandma’s house (just outside of Fresno). While there we went to the Sequoia National Park, had a small family reunion, hung out with the babies, and just enjoyed each other’s company.

My favorite part of the trip was meeting Borgie, Jason’s grandma. She’s 93 years old and although her body isn’t getting around as quickly as it once did, her mind is sharp and I really liked talking with her. She told me about her kids and her grandkids, about how she lost her husband to a heart attack and then lost her daughter to breast cancer. She told me about how her neighbor, who still lives down the road, told her what it meant to be born again. And she said, with just as much excitement as she probably had the day it happened, how she was saved at the age of 50.

I told Borgie a little bit about my story and how I can’t ever imagine losing my husband or my child like she did. “It is hard,” she said. “But God would give you the strength.” I tell myself that would be true, if it ever did happen. But it’s something else entirely when someone who has gone through it says that God is faithful.

I was most blessed when, at the end of our time at her house, Borgie pulled me aside and said “I can tell when people don’t really love each other, but I can see that you and Jason really do. I think that’s wonderful.”

I tried to tell her we certainly have our fair share of arguments and struggles but she said “Well, we all have our days. I am just happy Jason married you.”

Lately it’s been hard for me to believe that God can use me. I don’t mean to sound defeatist, I just mean that the sanctification is happening bit by bit every day and sometimes my faith is lacking when it comes to seeing the forest for the trees. But then someone like Borgie gets a peek into my life when I’m not looking and sees that God is moving there. I am glad she said something to me. It was very encouraging.

We are so happy Borgie could meet Ian, too.

Thanks, Borgie, for letting us invade your house and for sharing your story with me.

Here’s the rest of our photos and videos from the trip.

One response to “I think Borgie knows what she is talking about

  1. I don’t even know what to say.

    This is absolutely beautiful.

Leave a Reply

