Mother’s Day weekend

The Francis people and the Haggards hit the open road this weekend and headed to Coeur d’Alene. This was Jordan & Elysia’s first time in Idaho so we had to make it worth their while. We hope we did.

We left Thursday afternoon and didn’t arrive at Mom’s until late that evening because we stopped at the outlets and Jack in the Box, where I consumed 3 mini sirloin burgers (REMEMBER, these are NOT made from mini-cows! Also, I know I’m a hypocrite, but hey, I had a coupon).

Friday was sort of a lazy day–we hung around the house while Ian napped and then eventually piled in the Vo to buy chicken feed and go to Kohl’s. Exciting, I know. Turns out the store with the chicken feed no longer existed and Kohl’s didn’t sound all that exciting anymore, so we went back to the compound.

That evening we went downtown Coeur d’Alene for the Friday night artwalk, where we went in and out of galleries and drank free wine. Mom took Ian back home to go to bed and the four of us went up to Beverly’s, where there is a great view of the lake, one of our favorite cheese plates, and more wine.

Saturday we promised Jordan & Elysia we’d take them on a hike up Mineral Ridge. Mom decided to opt out, citing that there were bears and kooks up there and she wasn’t even sure we should take Ian.

On our way we stopped at Sonic, a place dear to Jordan & Jason. They used to shoot the breeze there in flight school, when they were young and single. We had limeades (easy on the ice) and sunshine smoothies, of course.

The hike was great–the weather held out, Ian enjoyed himself, and we only had one run-in with bears and kooks.  Here’s all of us at the top.

Later that night we went to the new X-Men movie and followed that by firing up the grill for blue cheese burgers. We gave Mom her Mother’s Day gift, which was a collection of old photos of her mom, matted and framed. Mom gave me a set of cute baby photo albums to document Ian’s first year.

Sunday morning Jason greeted me with a Happy Mother’s Day and gave me a handwritten letter (he knows I love these) and this really special frame with a collection of photos of Ian & I and of me when I was a little girl. I was so impressed with his creativity.

We drove home but not without one last surprise. When we were almost to Seattle Jason exited off the freeway in Factoria and stopped at TCBY (which I also love) where they were giving away free cones to moms on Mother’s Day. We ate the cone and a parfait the rest of the way home.

When I was first getting to know Jason he told me that Jordan and all the Francis’ were like family to him.  I wasn’t sure what that looked like, but I’m starting to get it now.  Jordan & Elysia love Jesus, love us, and are a lot of fun to be around.  We’re glad they get to be with us in Seattle for a while.

Here’s all our photos.

2 responses to “Mother’s Day weekend

  1. those pics of Jason and Ian on the bed are awesome. though Jason, you need to take more pictures, because there aren’t enough of Elisabeth / Elisabeth and Ian.

  2. NIIIIIIIIICE!
    I have to say, having lived through the experience that you just chronicled, I have a deeper appreciation for your skill. You (with help from camera) captured our weekend.
    Thanks for sharing your heart and your passion. We love you too, and we’re pretty fabulously blessed to share this time in Seattle with you (alt. “all a y’all!”).
    Will you teach me how you put links in your blog?
    Do you think we should start a band?

Leave a Reply

