Keisha’s piano

This is Keisha’s piano.

It has many stories. Many of them I don’t know, but I will tell you of the ones I do.

I met Keisha about three years ago and our friendship grew quickly because we both love stories. One conversation over email turned into longer ones spread out across many Monday afternoons in the spring and summer of 2006.

We talked about our stories, about what it was like growing up for us, about our struggles, and about God. We talked about what He might have for us and we spoke into each other lives about what we saw.

The piano sat there, right next to the kitchen table, as we talked and prayed and ate Keisha’s famous Mexican food. It sat there over the course of ten Monday evenings when we invited a handful of ladies to share their stories in our Story Group.

It sat there and Keisha played it when she wondered what music was supposed to mean to her at all.  She played it when she wondered what it looked like for her to be a loving wife, a good mom, a true friend.  She played it as she waited to get pregnant and when she miscarried again. She played it through the time she carried Ketziah in the womb (and maybe even going back to Malia), scared but excited.

Keisha played the piano as I met Jason, as we decided to get married, and as we struggled to be married. She played it as her friendship with me suffered through that season.

More recently, Keisha played the piano when Chad found out he had lost his job. And she played it through the praying and the finally deciding to move to North Carolina.

I have told Jason many times, “If you ever get me a piano, I want one like Keisha’s.” During that spring and summer of 2006 when I first met Keisha, I felt God clearly call me to start playing, but the time has never been right to buy a piano. Sally gave me piano lessons through my pregnancy and Jason bought me a keyboard to practice, but I haven’t played much since Ian was born.

For several weeks in April the thought of getting a piano and starting to play again would randomly pop into my head. I wasn’t sure what it was about.

Then Jason asked me one evening “What are you passionate about? What do you want to pursue?” Music was the first thing I said. It was merely an exploratory conversation and nothing concrete came out of it.

The next day I was making dinner and I started praying for Chad & Keisha. They were getting ready to move and I wondered how they were doing. I thought I would email Keisha to check in.

She emailed me back right away and said “I’m selling my piano. Do you want to buy it?”

And so now that piano, with so many stories, sits at our house. Jason was kind enough to approve and family pitched in some money to help purchase it as an early birthday present.

The first thing I thought when Keisha asked me if I wanted it was, “God would go and do something like that–not just give me a piano, but Keisha’s piano!”

God has a way of giving gifts that are so much more meaningful and far better than we could ever give ourselves.

I don’t know what I will struggle with and celebrate over as I sit down to play Keisha’s piano. I know it is a sacred space and I want to enter it humbly. I will think about and thank God for Keisha’s story. I will think about and thank God for mine.

And I will worship.

“be filled with the Spirit, addressing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody to the Lord with all your heart, giving thanks always and for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ” (Eph 5:19-20)

Listen to Keisha’s music here.

4 responses to “Keisha’s piano

  1. Pingback: Tears « This Beautiful Mess

  2. An inspiring lesson in love, patience and faith.

    Love always,
    Mom
    xxoo

  3. Pingback: My Piano « This Beautiful Mess

  4. Pingback: My Pianos « This Beautiful Mess

Leave a Reply

