In bloom

I planted these tulip bulbs on December 1st. I was four days overdue at that point. As I crouched down underneath the deck digging around in the pots, I thought to myself “When these bloom our son will be here. I don’t know when he’ll arrive, but I am pretty much guaranteed he’ll be here by then!”

As you can see I planted different colors–whites, purples and pinks. I didn’t pay attention to where I planted what, so it would be a surprise when they bloomed.

I guess I was thinking about surprises because there were a lot of them that lay ahead back in December. When I would go into labor was just the beginning.

What would our son look like and be like? What parenting challenges would we encounter? Would I be able to handle it? Would I feel more grown up when I became a parent? How would Jason & I’s relationship change?

What would we be thinking/feeling/experiencing several months down the road when these tulips bloomed and our son was a very familiar and daily part of life?

Ian Bo Bee-an came less than 48 hours later and the answers to those questions started to come.

The journey reminds me of one of my all-time favorite verses, Ecc. 3:11:

He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also, he has put eternity into man’s heart, yet so that he cannot find out what God has done from the beginning to the end.”

God has been faithful to that promise for us over the last 4 1/2 months.  It hasn’t been a breeze, but it has been really beautiful.  And it gets better every day.

Our life and our growing family are just a sliver in the big piece of the eternity pie that God is working out, but we are grateful that He cares so much about us.

Leave a Reply

