One giant leap

I’d like you to take a moment to celebrate with me that I just vacuumed my ENTIRE house for the FIRST TIME since Ian was born.

I know, you’re probably thinking “That’s seven weeks. That’s really gross.” Thankfully, the in-laws and Mother T were here and did their fair share of housecleaning. But, to be honest, it has been several weeks.

No, I didn’t do the edging, but I think it still counts. That is my attempt to give my OCD self some grace.

Everyone in the Haggard Haus came out relatively unscathed. Ian swung happily in his swing while listening to music, Lizzie sat on her duff, generally trying to avoid the cling & clatter, and I worked up a sweat.

Well, everyone was fine except for the vaccum. It now sounds like it’s trying to recover from a cold. Who knows what kind of crap congested its HEPA little lungs. Hopefully nothing that will one day cause my family to die of some rare and untreatable form of cancer.

Not only is my carpet clean, but I got the really satisfying feeling–probably more times than I should have–of rolling over particularly dirty spots and hearing all the stuff get sucked up and away, out of my sight forever.

All that, and I had time to write a post about it.

Here’s to one giant leap for mankind.

2 responses to “One giant leap

  1. well your house has looked incredibly clean when i’ve been there lately! cleaner than mine with a four month old i think, so i’m impressed.

  2. Hi Elizabeth and Jason-I am sorry it has taken me so long to contact you and CONGRATULATE you on the birth of your beautiful son! You are embarking on one of life’s great adventures, full of joys, heartache, joys, terror, joys, and l0ts and lots of learning. I have no doubt that you will both be wonderful parents. I wish you and your son all the blessings in the world. Have fun with it, and let me pass on the best piece of advice I ever got regarding that first year:

    SLEEP WHEN THE BABY SLEEPS!

Leave a Reply

