Getting ready

  • Completion of possible last date night as childless couple. Check.
  • Christmas presents for family & friends bought AND wrapped. Check.
  • Cars seat inspected and installed. Check. Ensuing realization of why people decide to buy SUVs and mini-vans. Check. Decision to no longer judge. Check.
  • Meltdown in IKEA while buying crib. Check. $1.25 hot dog and Diet Coke to relieve emotional upheaval. Check.
  • Decision to pick up entirely new hobby last week (sewing). Check.
  • Completion of first hobby project (curtains for Baby H’s room). Check.
  • Dream that I had twins. Check. Dream that my two front teeth fell out. Check. Discovery that, upon awakening, I was more disturbed about losing my teeth than having twins. Check.
  • Test drive of baby jogger with someone else’s child. Check.
  • Growing annoyance at the question “Have you had your baby yet?” Check.
  • Daydreams of future non-pregnant self running around Greenlake once again. Check.
  • A jump start on Lizzie’s assimilation into baby-dome (with above mentioned child that is not mine). Check. (Modus operandi–everyone keeps their distance and we all do just fine).
  • Two hour sleep chunks followed by a bathroom break, five times per night, for two weeks. Check.
  • Realization that I may cause my child to grow an extra limb due to toxic fumes potentially found in foam mattress purchased two months ago. Check. Decision to let it go. Check.
  • Illusion that I’m in control. Um, check?
4 responses to “Getting ready

  1. I love your new curtains! I’m very impressed with your organization… especially getting all of your Christmas shopping done with before baby arrives! Way to go! I’ve been thinking about you and baby a lot lately. I’ll pray you don’t somehow knock your teeth out during labor! Love you!

  2. Reminds me of all (most) of the dreams I had just before you were born. Everything will be fine.
    I love you!
    Dad

  3. good thing you’re used to the five two hour chunks of sleep. and Alaythia wants a kitten now….

  4. I love your spunk, enthusiasm, joy, and anticipation. It makes me smile and even brings a tear to my eye, reminding me of many good memories. Lots of love to the both of you…the three of you. Enjoy your moment, this special time in your life.

Leave a Reply

