Laughter, tears, and fears

I listened to this song this weekend and found that it resonated with me more than ever before.

Born
by Over the Rhine

I was born to laugh
I learned to laugh through my tears
I was born to love
I’m gonna learn to love without fear

Pour me a glass of wine
Talk deep into the night
Who knows what we’ll find

Intuition, deja vu
The Holy Ghost haunting you
Whatever you got
I don’t mind

Put your elbows on the table
I’ll listen long as I am able
There’s nowhere I’d rather be

Secret fears, the supernatural
Thank God for this new laughter
Thank God the joke’s on me

We’ve seen the landfill rainbow
We’ve seen the junkyard love
Baby it’s no place for you and me

I was born to laugh
I learned to laugh through my tears
I was born to love
I’m gonna learn to love without fear

I used to think that there was something base and insensitive about laughing through tears. But now I see the ability to do so as quite the miracle.

I also used to think it was impossible to get past that wall of fear that has kept me from really loving people. But I’m starting to think that’s a lot more possible, too.

One response to “Laughter, tears, and fears

  1. Elisabeth,
    I thank God for you every day. I learn from you every day. I miss you every day.
    God Bless You!

Leave a Reply

