Embarking on the greatest challenge of life

Two and a half weeks until the wedding. We’ve been moving, Jason has started his new job, and there is much wedding planning to do before the big day.  Praise Jesus.

Even in the midst of all the chaos it has started to hit me that I’m about to embark on the biggest challenge of my life. It’s sobering in such a way that I feel helpless before God. I really do want to know Christ more in the many years of marriage to Jason. I desire for the mysterious love that Christ has for His Bride to be expressed in the mountain tops of Jason and I’s marriage and in the deep, deep valleys. We know we can anticipate both.

From now until after our honeymoon, we’ll be taking a break from posting this blog. But I would like to leave you a quote I heard today on brokenness that really struck me – I thought about it in the context of marriage:

“Being a pilgrim is being apprenticed to Jesus Christ in such a way that you follow Christ to God, knowing that there are divine land mines set up for the life of Jesus to be potently expressed in your life in ways that you can’t imagine. God wants to use those times in ways that are far beyond our comprehension to spread the news of the Gospel to more and more people.”

Eric Mason (paraphrasing Eugene Peterson in A Long Obedience in the Same Direction)

Leave a Reply

