Two down and wedding to go

Last Thursday morning as I sat on the edge of the bed and put my shoes on, I stopped and prayed “God, please give us a place to live. Please let us hear back about the job Jason interviewed for. Please do this today. I am begging you. We are weary and tired of waiting.”

Usually when I pray for something very specific I also add “but whatever your will is, Lord, that will be best.” This time I didn’t. I just wanted some resolution or confirmation from God about where the heck we were going to live in this time of lots of uncertainty. I am so excited to say that God did choose to reveal His faithfulness to us on that day. And in the days following, too.

Later on Thursday that perfect place to live plopped down in our laps through my boss, Chad. His sister, Teresa and her husband Victor, were just finishing up a top-floor one bedroom in their old craftsman house with an amazing view. It couldn’t be more perfect for a newlywed couple. We will be close to Mars Hill and the rest of the city. We are also excited to be renting from people from our church who we are looking forward to getting to know.

The only unfortunate thing about the situation is that Lizzie will be going to my mom’s for a year, since pets are not allowed. She would’ve had to stay holed up in our place anyway, since we are on a very busy street. I’m sure she will have fun running around in Idaho and being sung to by Mother Teresa. I know she is just a cat, but through this I am learning that sacrifices are made, but the gift from God is still sweet – it just comes with sanctification, which is an even greater gift He offers.

Now fast forward to Monday morning when Jason got a call from Olympian Precast, offering him a job! He got glowing recommendations from his references and the owners of the company were happy to bring him on board as a project manager. Not only will he be using his technical engineering skills, but also managing and leading people, which is a God-given gift of his that he loves doing.

I am so proud of Jason for sticking these last few months out and trusting God to provide (while sometimes also wrestling with God about it!). And I am so proud that he is taking his bride, knowing the specific way he is going to provide for her.

Most of all, I am praising God for His faithfulness. We never could’ve dreamed up how He was going to pull all this off, and in such a short period of time. Our own plans couldn’t have been as good as His. And through it all, He has used it to sanctify us, asking us to sacrifice, trust, let go, and pray. We have also realized how much people love us, as our Community Group, staff at Mars Hill, friends and family have been praying and encouraging us.

These are lessons I know I am constantly learning, this is just another round of it. I can also be thankful for the gift that is learning these lessons with Jason in the years to come.

Lastly, here is a verse that Jason was meditating on on Monday morning, before hearing about the job offer . . .

“But let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them ever sing for joy, and spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may exult in you. For you bless the righteous, O Lord; you cover him with favor as with a shield.” (Psalm 5:11-12)

One more to go – getting down the aisle (which is really just the beginning . . .)

One response to “Two down and wedding to go

  1. Pingback: Looking for a rental « Bliss and the Battlefield

Leave a Reply

