Day 32 and we’re rounding the corner . . .

32 more days until the wedding. Whoa. As I write this, Jason is sitting next to me in the green chair on another lap top, working on plans for his bachelor poker party. I spent a good part of the afternoon organizing all the tasks left to do before October 6th and how I can farm them out to friends and family. Things are definitely starting to pick up in the planning department. Start the pre-game time music.

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged about what we’re up to. Here are some of the major points:

  • Jason’s job search – The cement plant in West Seattle that Jason was waiting to hear back on fell through. They company decided to re-budget so the job may not even be offered anymore. Several more interviews have passed and only one job has been a major interest. Jason went in for a second interview and we heard back last week that he’s in the running. We’ll know if he gets an offer on Wednesday. We hope this is the one.
  • House search – We’ve decided that buying a house is just going to be too much before we get married. So, we resigned ourselves to finding an apartment or condo in Seattle. We nailed down a great place in Ballard, which unexpectedly fell through about a week ago. Now we’re on the hunt with not a whole lot of prospects. It’s getting down to the wire, since I need to start moving out of my house mid-September.
  • Other dramas – Jason’s car gotten broken when he went camping with Tim VanOss last weekend. The worst part is that they needlessly broke 4 windows (yuck). The day before that, Jason blew out his back and has been laid up for about a week. The re-org at Mars Hill continues (which means when people ask me what I do, I just say “Um, I’m not really sure right now.”). Oh yes, and Lizzie got in a cat fight (again) and had to have surgery on her face (another yuck).

Regardless of all the transition, uncertainty and unfortunate events, this is a really joyous time for us. Here are some of the reasons why:

  • We are in love. It’s hard work, but it is well worth it.
  • The uncertainty of jobs and a living situation are an opportunity to trust in Jesus, day by day. I know it’s making me realize that I am not entitled to anything and that all God has given is an unmerited gift.
  • We’ve got a great friends and family surrounding us who are celebrating our engagement and upcoming marriage with us.
  • Mars Hill is our church and it is awesome. Even with all the change in my job, I’m working with a great team of people who deeply desire to serve Jesus’ church and I know that God will bless us because of that desire. We know that what we hear from the pulpit is straight from the Bible.
  • We have full bellies and warm beds.
  • We will always have God’s Word to reveal to us who Jesus is and to provide us with wisdom for every part of life.

That’s it. I’m tired. Time to close the laptop and lean my head on Jason’s shoulder.

Leave a Reply

