A Minnesota summer

Pretty much my whole life I have heard complaints about the great state of Minnesota, of which I am a native. Some of them include:

  • It’s too hot and muggy. I had to bring a ventilator outside with me so I could breathe properly.
  • It’s too cold. I stepped out the door and one of my appendages turned frostbitten and fell off.
  • Every time I go outside a swarm of mosquitos attacks any exposed skin on my body.
  • The people there talk funny.
  • It’s got the Mall of America, for pete’s sake.
  • Informed (or uninformed, you be the judge) voters there elected a WWF wrestler as their governor.

Alright, alright, these complaints are somewhat valid. Every place has its downsides. But honestly, you can’t beat a Minnesota summer like the one I’ve been experiencing the last couple days. Here are some of the reasons why it’s so wonderful:

  • Green leaves and lakes are everywhere.
  • Warm rain can downpour for 5 minutes and then the sun comes out and it’s beautiful again.
  • Dairy Queen becomes a staple in your diet.
  • Family is here.
  • There’s nothing like a Midwest 4th of July.
  • A tinge of humidity in the air (not uncomfortable, mind you) makes your skin feel wonderful.
  • My favorite gift shop across the street from Dad’s.
  • Playing tennis at Loring Park.
  • Running around Lake of the Isles.

The only thing is, I miss Jason. That definitely puts a damper on the trip, but the hope is that he’ll be with me the next trip around.

2 responses to “A Minnesota summer

  1. … ok, feeling homesick now …

  2. Pingback: Blog Poets Society | Confessions of blogging convictions

Leave a Reply

