What’s so great about Jason?

Great question, one I would be glad to answer. At the moment, I am particularly tuned into this seeing as how I left Seattle yesterday to come here to Minneapolis to visit my dad and already miss him terribly.

So here are a few of the many reasons why I love Jason so much (in no particular order, except for the first one):

  1. He loves Jesus and pursues relationship with Him with honesty, passion, and determination.
  2. He could (and would) beat someone up in order to protect me. He’s got super big arm muscles (aka “guns”) and he does push ups all the time to keep them extra big to show off to his woman.
  3. He loves to tell stories and he’s great at it. I have so enjoyed his re-telling of our meeting and courtship here on our blog. Many of you have, too.
  4. He’s super smart. He’s a science and math whiz, can figure out how things mechanically work, and I’m sure could fix almost anything.
  5. He’s a great cook and baker. I try to except his wisdom in the kitchen since he knows so much. I just hope one day I can concoct edible creations for him as well as he does for me.
  6. He loves to talk to me and he’s a great listener. We could sit for hours and share what’s on our hearts. He is great at hearing what I say, but then pursuing the heart that is behind my words.
  7. He desires my holiness before my happiness. Sometimes this means leaning in when I am obstinate and resist the truth or the exposure of my sin. He does it anyway because he loves me.
  8. He’s dependable. When he says he’ll do something, he does it.
  9. He’s wise. God has given him a mind that is discerning and sensitive to the Spirit’s leading. He makes decisions confidently and efficiently.
  10. He is grace-filled. He has given me more of God’s grace than anyone else I know, besides Jesus.
  11. He seeks to provide for our family. As he looks for a new job, I see this godly desire and it makes me feel safe and cared for.
  12. He makes me laugh. Like when he did the hammer dance at the Mariner’s game on Saturday. Or when he told me he used to run around the woods when he was a kid with his mom’s fondue forks as weapons.
  13. He’s a great encourager. He prays for me, tells me I’m beautiful, and makes a point to tell me all the qualities he enjoys about me. He challenges me to believe the truth about who I am as a child of God.
  14. He gives wonderful hugs. Plentiful, too.
  15. He lives out God’s Word. I have a tendency to talk the talk, but struggle to walk the walk. Jason studies who God is and then goes out and does an amazing job of living like Him and for Him. I get to be the foremost recipient of his efforts and am greatly blessed.

If only every woman had a man like Jason. The world would indeed be a better place. I am so blessed to be his future wife.

One response to “What’s so great about Jason?

  1. this is such a beautiful post! and reminds me of some of the things I would look or hope for in a man I would want to marry. I loved #7

Leave a Reply

