I am thankful

. . . that I was able to take my kids to the pumpkin patch yesterday.  I had the energy to do it on my own and we had such a sweet, enjoyable time together.

Don’t they look so grown up?

I am thankful that my midwife’s office called today and told me all my labs were very normal (and my iron was even exceptionally good).  The numbers on paper just further confirm how I feel physically on most days.

I am thankful to be so excited to meet this new baby.  I see little ones and I feel like I can’t wait to hold mine! When I found out I was pregnant, I couldn’t have imagined feeling this way at six months. I am also excited to give birth again.

I am thankful and so very, very pleased at how Ian is growing up.  I am glad God has given me more energy, courage, direction, and conviction to be consistent with him, and how that is helping him to blossom.  This is truly answered prayer, as so many times I feel insecure about my ability to parent. Yesterday Ian told me I was the best mom ever, and I told him I was so glad I get to be his mom.

I am thankful for the Tarters.

I am thankful that Jason & I planned a trip to Monterey for this coming weekend and this won’t be one of those times (they have been frequent in the last few years), where I have to cancel because I just don’t have it in me to travel.

I am thankful that with help from Sarah (who gives me time to sleep), I am able to handle our regular load of preschool, BSF, parish group, church, and other special activities that come up.  Right now I am even able to volunteer to help sometimes.

I am thankful for sleep!  Yes, it is still assisted by certain pharmaceuticals, but I am amazed at how much my health and mood has improved with more rest.  I am also better able to discern when I need to slow down and rest more, and then actually do it without guilt (but not always without some grumpiness and a few tears).

I am thankful that even though I am feeling better, God is still putting me in positions where I have to ask for help, which makes me very uncomfortable.  I can’t say I am seizing all the opportunities that come to me, but I am thankful for the chances.

I am thankful that Seattle Children’s Hospital is so generously covering the cost of Ian’s very expensive hospital visit. Actually, I am in awe and humbled by it.

I am thankful for Lizzie, who waits patiently every afternoon to take a nap with me.  But I hate that she almost always wants to sleep right on my belly, but not before obsessively kneading it with her paws.

I am thankful for my mom and how I see God working in her life.

I am thankful for how handy Jason is and all the home improvement projects he’s completed, and the ones he has in the works.

Jason is thankful that I cook dinner, clean up the kitchen afterward, and make his lunch.  He used to do that most every night.

He’s also thankful his wife is less crazy.   He will tell you that is much more exhausting to deal with than dirty dishes.

Life is not perfect — I don’t mean to portray it that way.  I do wonder what the future holds and how we’ll fare as my pregnancy progresses and the baby comes.

But I am thankful for these things.

2 responses to “I am thankful

  1. Thanks for the update. God’s grace is clear in your life, in addition to many people who love and help you, and not least, your attitude about life. It’s great seeing you at BSF each week.

  2. Imogen hair looks so cute and so blond!!

Leave a Reply

